FC Augsburg Logo FC Augsburg
Herrlich: "Das Publikum hat uns getragen"

Herrlich: “The crowd pushed us on“

First Team 26.09.2020, 18:55

FCA recorded their second consecutive win to the start the season against Borussia Dortmund (2-0). “It was a great team performance against the ball,” summed up Heiko Herrlich.

Rafal Gikiewicz: “My job is to keep the ball out – which I was able to do because my players defended well in front of me. We knew after the Union game that we could take something against Dortmund. You could see this belief on the pitch today.”

Daniel Caligiuri: “Even though there were only 6,000 fans there, it felt like a full house. It was amazing to beat BVB in my first home game for FCA, especially as an ex-Schalker. We managed to keep a clean sheet and our confidence grew throughout the game. We played as a team and therefore deservedly won.”

Felix Uduokhai: “The fans carried us home today. It was a hard-fought win. My voice is gone, but that doesn’t matter. We knew before the game that we would need set-piece goals to beat Dortmund and we were clinical from them.”

Heiko Herrlich: “We are delighted to have started the season with two wins and that we won our first home game with the fans back. We can put this victory into perspective – it was a great team performance against the ball. We kept things tight, had a bit of luck, but didn’t give them many chances. We defended well in the second half and the crowd pushed us on. It felt like a full house and that gave us a real boost. The team put our plan into action well and played for one another. We are happy to start with six points from six, but know that we have some tough games to come.”

Lucien Favre: “It’s hard to accept this defeat. We completely dominated the game and started well, but lacked precision. We were a bit overhasty and the foul for their first goal was unnecessary.  Augsburg defended well once they went 2-0 up and tackled well. We should have been more patient and we still have plenty to do.”



Borussia Dortmund
Felix Uduokhai
Heiko Herrlich
Rafał Gikiewicz
Daniel Caligiuri