FC Augsburg Logo FC Augsburg

Günther wins again – Vargas victorious too

Germany U19s record a third win in three games

First Team 13.10.2021, 10:59

Four FCA players were in action on international duty on Tuesday. While Ruben Vargas, Fredrik Jensen and Lasse Günther all celebrated wins, Michael Gregoritsch suffered a decisive defeat.

Ruben Vargas and Switzerland defeated Lithuania 4-0 on Tuesday night. He came off the bench in the 68th minute for the ‘Nati’. Their goals were scored by Gladbach’s Breel Embolo (31’, 45’), Wolfsburg’s Renato Steffen (42’) and Mario Gavranovic (94’). Thanks to this win, Switzerland are sat in second and have at least secured a place in the play-offs. With two games to go, they will be looking to overtake Italy, who also have 14 points, to qualify directly for the 2022 World Cup.

Fredrik Jensen was also successful with Finland, who beat Kazakhstan 2-0 thanks to a Teemu Pukki brace (45’, 47’). They are currently third in Group D, however they are one point behind Ukraine in second and have a game in hand over them, so Finland have a realistic chance of reaching the play-offs. They could still mathematically catch group leaders France, although that four-point gap will most likely prove too much.
Germany U19s recorded a third win in their third game at the Four Nations tournament. Lasse Günther started again, completing the full 90 minutes. Their final match of the tournament saw them defeat the Netherlands 4-1 with goals from Kwadwo Baah (6’), Armindo Sieb (20’), Robert Wagner (40’) and Youssef Amyn (60’).

Tuesday evening wasn’t as successful for Michael Gregoritsch and Austria. They were beaten 1-0 in Copenhagen by Denmark via a Joakim Maehle goal (53’). FCA’s attacker came off the bench in the 83rd minute. Austria are now seven points adrift of second place in Group F meaning they can no longer directly qualify for the 2022 World Cup via this qualification group, however they could still reach the play-offs by virtue of their last Nations League campaign. 

Unsere FCA-APP

Jetzt herunterladen!

Carlos Gruezo
Fredrik Jensen
Michael Gregoritsch
Ruben Vargas
Lasse Günther