FC Augsburg Logo FC Augsburg

Season in Numbers: Goalscorers

2020/21 statistics

First Team 28.05.2021, 10:49

The 2020/21 season is history, which gives us the opportunity to look back at some of FCA’s top performers. In part two of our ‘Season in Numbers’ series, we’re putting the spotlight on goals, with one Fuggerstädter bagging three goals against Mainz, and another scoring all his goals in the second half of the season. All this and more below. 

André Hahn
leads the Augsburg goalscorer charts for the season with eight strikes. For Hahn, this personal tally was higher than that of both previous seasons combined (five). In the first half of the season, Hahn scored twice in a 3-1 win over Mainz, and later scored the 1-0 winner in the reverse fixture.

At second place: Daniel Caligiuri with six goals to his name. Four of these were scored in the opening ten games of the season, two of them were penalty kicks. With his converted penalty against SV Werder Bremen, Daniel Caligiuri wrapped up Bundesliga safety in a 2-0 win for FCA. 

Also on six goals: Ruben Vargas, who equalled his tally from the season before. The winger scored FCA’s first goal of the season in the 3-1 away win against Union Berlin. Later in the season, he scored a sensational overhead kick against Mainz in another 3-1 win. 

Florian Niederlechner found the back of the net a total of five times. After not scoring any in the first 17 games of the season, he bagged a brace in the first of the second round of fixtures at home to Union, ending his goal drought. His goal against Bayer Leverkusen very nearly gave FCA their first ever win against the Werkself, but for a last-second equaliser.   

Marco Richter completes the list of top five goalscorers with three goals to his name. His header against Schalke was particularly memorable, with which he levelled the scores at 2-2 in the third minute of stoppage time, after the Fuggerstädters had been playing with ten men for over half an hour.  

Unsere FCA-APP

Jetzt herunterladen!

André Hahn
Florian Niederlechner
Marco Richter
Ruben Vargas
Daniel Caligiuri