FC Augsburg Logo FC Augsburg

Jensen hoping to advance, Gregoritsch and Vargas through

Defeat for Jensen and Finland

First Team 23.06.2021, 11:54

The group stage of the UEFA EURO 2020 continued on Monday evening, with several key results for our players. Michael Gregoritsch and Austria advanced to the round of 16 with a 1-0 win over Ukraine, while Fredrik Jensen and Finland lost 2-0 to Belgium, and will now have to wait and see if they will be able to advance. Monday’s results were cause for celebration for Ruben Vargas and Switzerland, however, as they have advanced to the round of 16. 

Austria faced Ukraine in their final group stage game on Monday evening. They dominated from the start, and took the lead in the 21st minute as Illja Zabarnyi poked home off a corner from David Alaba that had been redirected by Christoph Baumgartner. Gregoritsch was an unused substitute in the 1-0 win.  Austria ended the group stage in second place in Group A, reaching the round of 16 for the first time in tournament history. They will now face Italy on Sunday, 26th June (21:00 CEST). 

Finland also closed out the group stage on Monday evening against Belgium. Despite several chances, Belgium were unable to break through the Finnish defence, as goalkeeper Lukas Hradecky made several strong saves. Romelu Lukaku thought he had broken the deadlock in the 65th minute, but the goal was disallowed due to offside. Belgium then took the lead in the 74th minute, after a corner from Kevin De Bruyne found the head of Thomas Vermaelen and bounced off the post and onto Hradecky’s arm into the back of the net. Lukaku then added a second in the 81st minute. Jensen was subbed on in extra time (90’+1), but had to watch as his team fell to their second group stage defeat. Finland finished third in Group B, and will now have to wait and see if their three points are enough to see them through as one of the top four third-placed sides.

Monday night’s results mean that Switzerland and Ruben Vargas are through to the round of 16, after having finished third in their group.


Unsere FCA-APP

Jetzt herunterladen!

Fredrik Jensen
Michael Gregoritsch
Ruben Vargas
Tomáš Koubek