FC Augsburg Logo FC Augsburg
Niederlage in Wales: Fredrik Jensen im Trikot der finnischen Nationalmannschaft

Demirović und Jensen’s EURO 2024 journeys come to an end

Engels assists winning goal

First Team 22.03.2024, 10:00

FCA’s Ermedin Demirović und Fredrik Jensen will not make an appearance at EURO 2024 after losing their semi-final play-off matches on Thursday evening. 

Ermedin Demirović and his national team Bosnia and Herzegovina were in the lead right up until the 85th minute of their clash against Ukraine, before the game took an unexpected turn. Roman Yaremchuk netted an equaliser for the visitors, after which Artem Dovbyk nodded home the winner just two minutes prior to the final whistle. With that, Demirović’s EURO 2024 journey came to a frustrating end at the Bilino Polje.

Fredrik Jensen and Finland also stumbled at the last hurdle after falling to a 3-1 defeat against Wales. The 26-year-old forward was substituted on in the 78th minute, but was unable to salvage a spot for his team at EURO 2024.

Joy for Engels, Kömür defeated 

Thankfully, it wasn’t all bad news for every FCA player in international action, as Arne Engels came out on top in a 3-1 win over Malta with Belgium U21s. The 20-year-old provided the assist for the winner in the 40th minute and remained on the pitch for the entire 90 minutes. Belgium U21s are now third in qualifying Group B, and are on equal footing with Scotland, as well as Spain, who they are set to face off against on Tuesday, 26th March at 19:00 CET. 

FC Augsburg’s home-grown talent Mert Kömür and the Germany U19s fell to a 2-1 defeat in their elite round clash against Croatia on Wednesday afternoon, during which the youngster came off the bench just after the break. The side are set to take on Romania (Saturday, 12:30 CET) and Turkey (Tuesday, 14:00 CET) in their remaining EURO 2024 qualifiers. 

Ruben Vargas and Kevin Mbabu will be in action for Switzerland in their friendly against Denmark this coming Saturday (20:00 CET).

Unsere FCA-APP

Jetzt herunterladen!

Fredrik Jensen
Ermedin Demirović
Arne Engels
Mert Kömür