FC Augsburg Logo FC Augsburg

Vargas helps Switzerland secure EURO 2020 qualification

First Team 19.11.2019, 15:43

After Fredrik Jensen, Tin Jedvaj and Michael Gregoritsch all qualified for EURO 2020, Stephan Lichtsteiner and Ruben Vargas also booked their places with Switzerland on Tuesday evening in Gibraltar.

Switzerland rounded off their qualifying campaign with a 6-1 win in Gibraltar. Augsburg winger Ruben Vargas made Cedric Itten’s opening goal, before scoring himself to make it 2-0. The other Swiss goals were scored Christian Fassnacht, Loris Benito, Itten again and Granit Xhaka. Gibraltar’s Reece Styche added a consolation for the hosts. Stephan Lichtsteiner was an unused sub on the night. The Swiss also won the group after Denmark only drew 1-1 in Dublin against the Republic of Ireland.

Fredrik Jensen and Finland had already ensured qualificiaton on Friday night, although they went down 2-1 in Greece. Ex-Schalke man Teemu Pukki gave the Fins the lead, before Petros Mantalos und Konstantinos Galanopoulos won it for the home side. Jensen came on as a sub in the closing stages.

Unsere FCA-APP

Jetzt herunterladen!

Ruben Vargas
Stephan Lichtsteiner