FC Augsburg Logo FC Augsburg
Ermedin Demirović bei der Nationalmannschaft von Bosnien-Herzegowina

Six FCA players on international duty

Looking to qualify for 2024 EUROs

First Team 08.10.2023, 11:00

Six FC Augsburg players will be away with their national sides during the second international break of the season. Tim Breithaupt has once again been called up to represent Germany U21s.

Ermedin Demirović will be in action in European qualifying with Bosnia and Herzegovina. “Playing at a European Championship is a lifelong dream of mine,” said the FCA captain. On Friday, 13th October, the 25-year-old will take on Liechtenstein, before hosting Portugal in Zenica on Monday, 16th October. 

Switzerland’s Ruben Vargas is also vying to take part in next summer’s tournament with his country. The 25-year-old wasn’t in the squad against Darmstadt at the weekend due to an adductor issue, but has been included in Switzerland’s squad for the upcoming international break. Whether he will be able to join up with the team remains to be seen. Switzerland will travel to face Israel (Thursday, 12th October), before facing Belarus (Sunday, 15th October). 

Engels, Beljo and Breithaupt called up to play for U21s 

Arne Engels, Dion Beljo and Tim Breithaupt will all be in action with their respective U21 sides, as they all look to secure a spot at the next U21 EUROs. 

Engels and Belgium U21s will come up against Malta U21s on Friday, 13th October, before facing Hungary U21s on Tuesday, 17th October. Beljo and Croatia U21s are set to come up against Greece U21s (13th October) and Belarus U21s (17th October). Breithaupt will be away with Germany U21s as they travel to face Belarus on 13th October. Due to the ongoing conflict in Israel, it’s unclear whether the team will be able to play in Israel on 17th October as planned. 

Mert Kömür and the Germany U19s are also looking to pick up important points on the path to qualifying for the U19 EUROs. They will come up against Kazakhstan on 11th October, before games against North Macedonia (14th October) and Poland (17th October).

Unsere FCA-APP

Jetzt herunterladen!

Ruben Vargas
Ermedin Demirović
Arne Engels
Dion Beljo
Mert Kömür
Tim Breithaupt